The Hateful Eight – Official Teaser Trailer

So, you mean to tell me that as of writing, a shocking three hours after its release, the official teaser trailer for Quentin Tarantino’s hotly anticipated The Hateful Eight has only accumulated a mere 20,000 views on YouTube under distributor channel, The Weinstein Company?

Now I don’t know about ya’ll folks but come this winter I’ll be firmly perched in a chilly mountain lodge alongside QT veterans Samuel L. Jackson, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, and the cult hero himself, Kurt Russel. With a number of intriguing casting choices left to shine when the snow starts’a fallin’ let’s have a look see here if we can’t dissect a little character out of this trailer before the blood kicks up a pouring.

"Got room for one more?"

Since the days of Pulp Fiction Samuel L. Jackson has struggled to reach the same levels of notorious Jules Winnfield, regarded by pop culture as an Ezekial preaching meme but, as a no-nonsense gangster with a hankering for a tasty burger by those who know him best: and boy does QT know SLJ. Sitting atop a frozen pile of slain bounties Jackson, as, Major Marquis Warren, asks for a ride.

It’s hear as the stagecoach door swings open and Russel leans out guns’a pointin’ that we get our first taste of Ennio Morricone’s original score. After conducting previous work with the Pulp maestro for Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds, and Django The Hateful Eight will be the first to feature an all original score by the world-renowned composer.

Riffing up to high gear we’re treated to further QT trademarks that remind us of why we fell in love with Jules’ prophetic badassery before blasting away his victims. We’re already given a sense of this post-civil war world by the smooth scripted description of ‘The Hangman’. Later in the trailer we’re given further reason to get excited about the 8th Tarantino film.

Revealed that these eight strangers have one connection and one night together in an isolated lodge we’re led down a path of deception that distils a thrilling atmosphere in the rich set pieces, an element that comes through effortlessly in Morricone’s score.

The table is set for eight, but with the guns drawn and whiffs of betrayal in the air who will survive Tarantino’s latest blizzard of western inspiration?

With a wink toward the limited 70mm release in an estimated 50 cinemas worldwide expect the international release date for early January, sometime around the 8th I should say. In the meantime I’ll be watching this over and over again until the wheels on my wagon fall off.

~ Happy Viewing ~

13 thoughts on “The Hateful Eight – Official Teaser Trailer

  1. Yes!! Great article, James. I’m right there with you. I cannot wait for this!

    I love what said about the score. It seems like story focus here was on SLJ. But I think that’s for QT familars like us. To get us salivating with a little Jules Winfield nostalgia.

    Did you notice how wide this trailer was? Big black bars. 70mm yo! Hehe. I hope we get the 70mm super wide print in Ottawa (Canada).

    So excited buddy. Thanks for writing about it. I love hearing a fellow movie nerd’s thoughts about this. I hope you like my trailer breakdown too. Stay tuned for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers Dan, glad you enjoyed it! I’ve been itching for the release of this trailer for months and it didn’t disappoint! I’ll keep a keen eye out, and if I miss it send me a link in these comments, I’ve started a new job recently so it’s hard to keep track of everything going on.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’ve been waiting so long too. Not disappointed at all… Congrats on the new job, man! I hope you find time to squeeze in some writing. I enjoy your point of view on movies.

        By the way, new Back to the Future documentary coming soon! Another awesome flick to anticipate.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. FUCK YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait for this.

    I’m so happy Morricone has actually written an original score for a QT movie. It’s been leading to this ever since Kill Bill :)

    Can’t wait anyway (had to say it again!) and thanks for the great article James!

    #minions

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts...

